Custom / Advanced Where Statement

Im new to writing SQL, and most of my needs so far have been met in the wonderful w3 SQL tutorial. However, I have a dee I havent been able to find a way to do, and I can't find info on it in the forums either.

I have 3 inner joined tables in the part of the code Im struggling with.ClientsView
EmployeeClients
Employees For a given client (identified by ClientsView.client_id) there are many employees linked to the client. I want to search those employees and return in a single column Primary_Staff the employee assigned to the client who meets certain criteria. In all cases the field EmployeeClients.primary_flag will need to be YES. The kicker is that what I want it to look for is first to see if an employee is found where the Employee.profile_code = MHP. If so, that is the employee I want listed in the new Primary_Staff field. If no one is found with that profile code, then I want it to search the employees to see if any is found where Employee.profile_code = On Call MHP. Then Employee.profile_code = LPE. And a few others, but thats enough for the example. If it goes through the list of profile codes Im looking for and doesnt find anyone, then I just want it to say Unassigned.

Posted On: Sunday 30th of December 2012 10:54:55 PM Total Views:  245
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF Microsoft SQL Server PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

Help with two related where clauses