Change column to autonumber (MSSQL)

After six years of constant nagging from me, my office has finally implemented a copy of MSSQL to replace Access (Woohoo!), so I am now going through and making changes to my queries, which is going quite well.

The one problem I noticed was that when the server people imported my databases, they did not always preserve the column properties properly. I'm getting "cannot insert null value" errors for columns that should be autonumber and primary key.

Is there:

1) A query I can issue to check the column properties, and

2) A query I can issue to change an existing column to autonumber and make it a primary key
Posted On: Monday 31st of December 2012 01:44:45 AM Total Views:  354
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF MYSQL PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

Keeping track of record changes

Hi all! Okay, I am new to PHP and MySQL, and here is an embarrassingly simple question since I am very rusty on database stuff... I want to keep track of when a record was created and updated. I thought I read somewhere that if you use a certain Data-Type that MySQL will automatically put a TimeStamp in a row anytime something changes. Is this true What is the best way to set things up in PHP (i.e. code) and MySQL (i.e. Data-Types and SQL) to keep track of Row Created and Row Changed info\t
VIEWS ON THIS POST

Posted on:

Thursday 25th October 2012
View Replies!

deploy new changes to existing database

, Several days ago, I needed to upgrade one application by deploying some changes to one SQL server database. I tried to use ApexSQL diff tool but I got many error messages due to the dependencies (PKs and FKs). What's the best way to generate SQL scripts that upgrades my old database schema to match the new schema without data loss.
VIEWS ON THIS POST

Posted on:

Thursday 25th October 2012
View Replies!

DATE_ADD PROBLEM USING >