Does Swing need another Layer?

A lot of people out there in the community keep addressing the fact that they think Swing needs a higher level that developers use. Similar I supose to how SWT has JFace.

Personally, I think this might be a good idea. So I started playing around with some ideas. Don't slam me on this simple primative example, but see if this is something you think is a good idea to build off of.

When I use a JTextArea there is a lot of initial constructing that needs to be done. For example, I always word and line wrap and I always have a JScrollPane. Here is a typical initialization of a JTextArea:

JTextArea text = new JTextArea(10, 10); text.setWrapStyleWord(true); //false by default. Don't know why text.setLineWrap(true); //False by default. Don't know why JScrollPane textScroll = new JScrollPane(text); container.add(textScroll);
Posted On: Tuesday 23rd of October 2012 11:31:25 PM Total Views:  220
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF Swing / AWT / SWT PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

JPanel repaint(): what does it do inside?

I have no problem using repaint(). But I'm curious to know what it does inside. Does it simply call the paintComponent() method again or do something special I can't imagine how the program will know what and how to repaint if it doesn't call my overridden paintComponent() method
VIEWS ON THIS POST

Posted on:

Wednesday 17th October 2012
View Replies!

JComboBox.setSelectedItem() does not update the displayed value