swig/python memory leak question

I am just getting into swig and trying to wrap my C++ library in python. I have a newbee question. If my C++ object has a method that allocates memory and returns a void * to it, python complains about ...
Posted On: Sunday 11th of November 2012 11:49:24 PM Total Views:  460
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF Python Programming PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

32-bit python memory limits?

I'm running a Python job on OS X 10.5.3 and the Python 2.5.2 that's available as a binary download at python.org for OS X. I ran a python program tonight that ended up using much more memory than anticipated. It just kept on using more and more memory. Instead of killing it, I just watched it, using Activity Monitor. I assumed that when it had 2GB allocated it would blow up, because I thought 32-bit python could only address 2GB. But Activity Monitor reported that it had allocated 3.99GB of virtual memory before it finally blew up with malloc errors. Was my understanding of a 2GB limit wrong I guess so! But I'm pretty sure I saw it max out at 2GB on linux... Anybody have an explanation, or is it just that my understanding of a 2GB limit was wrong Or was it perhaps right for earlier versions, or on linux...\t
VIEWS ON THIS POST

Posted on:

Wednesday 7th November 2012
View Replies!

Re: Passing a memory address (pointer) to an extension?