Exception or not

Suppose you have some HTML forms which you would like to validate. Every field can have different errors. For example, this are the forms: username password etc And you want to validate them with some class. Is this good pattern: ...
Posted On: Sunday 25th of November 2012 11:03:13 PM Total Views:  55
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF Python Programming PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

How do I unit-test a specific case of a home-rolled exception ?

""" I'm a bit new to both home-made exceptions and unit tests, so sorry if I'm just being stupid or doing it totally wrong. I have an exception class, and I want to check that a particular instance of it has been raised; or more accurately that one is raised that is equal to an instance I specify. In the example below, I can check that a 'LongRationalError' is raised, but I want to check that it is specifically a 'LongrationalError('1') or a 'LongRationalError('2') How do I do that +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ The critical line is: self.assertRaises(LongRationalError, LongRational, 1, "7") and it doesn't work if i put: self.assertRaises(LongRationalError('2'), LongRational, 1, "7") +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ """ import unittest class LongRationalError(Exception): Message={} Message['1']="numerator must be an integer" Message['2']="denominator must be an integer" def __init__(self, code): self.code = str(code) def __str__(self): k = self.code if k in self.Message.keys(): v = self.Message[k] else: v = '...no description provided' return "Long Rational error #%s: %s" % (k,v) class LongRational(): import types allowed = [types.IntType,types.LongType] def __init__(self,a,b): if type(a) not in self.allowed: raise LongRationalError("1") if type(b) not in self.allowed: raise LongRationalError("2") if b == 0: raise ValueError("supplied denominator must be non-zero") if a == 0: b = 1 self.numerator=long(a) self.denominator=long(b) class TestLongRationals(unittest.Tes