How to Convert a char array to int?

all, I'm new to C and I'm having a heck of a time trying to convert a char array element to an integer. Declaration of my char array is: char myarray[80]; ....then I scanf a number from the user ...
Posted On: Monday 26th of November 2012 12:45:53 AM Total Views:  299
View Complete with Replies

RELATED TOPICS OF C Language PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

Creating mutually non-convertible yet identical classes

The problem I am facing is that an integer is the ideal representation for many different classes I am using. I want to write overloaded functions that are able to differentiate between the classes without mutual interference. The naive, yet wrong, solution is: typedef int A; typedef int B; void f(A a); void f(B b); // Error since typedef does not introduce a new type. In addition, I want the naked expression "b = a" to error out during compile time. The solution that I have implemented looks like this: #define DECLARE_UNIQUE_CLASS_ALIAS(_ALIAS, _BASE)\ struct _ALIAS\ {\ _BASE value;\ _ALIAS(const _BASE& v)\ {\ this->value = v;\ }\ operator _BASE() const\ {\ return this->value;\ }\ }; DECLARE_UNIQUE_CLASS_ALIAS(A, int) DECLARE_UNIQUE_CLASS_ALIAS(B, int) This has the deed effect, but I am not happy with it because: 1. It uses macros, and is not debuggable. 2. Since the machine code for each alias is identical, and this will be used a lot, this code will not be optimized by the compiler. Could someone could suggest a solution that does not have the defects that my code has
VIEWS ON THIS POST

Posted on:

Wednesday 7th November 2012
View Replies!

convert binary to decimal in template at compiler time.